Hearthstone: An Introduction

written by Techno

What is Hearthstone?
Originally, Hearthstone was designed to be a card game based on one of Blizzard’s past games, World of Warcraft. Hence the name, Hearthstone: Heroes of Warcraft. Upon the years, Hearthstone has had some interesting card ideas, ranging from characters and spells inside and outside of the WoW lore. One of Hearthstone’s first expansions, Gnomes vs. Goblins, featured one of Hearthstone’s most valuable cards. This card was known to be one of the best cards in Hearthstone, Dr. Boom. Though this was a very well-known character in Hearthstone, it wasn’t very well known in WoW.

Because Blizzard releases one expansion every four months, they realized that they could not use the same characters and spells from WoW. They would soon pass the limited amount of characters from WoW. What Hearthstone has done was create new characters to go along with the characters from World of Warcraft like the Kobolds and Catacombs expansion.

Hearthstone is a card game based on skill and a little bit of bullshit RNG. This game will make you want to throw your phone across the room sometimes, I mean it. But, put that aside and you’ll have tons of fun playing this game.


Players battle by using minions and spells to claim victory. The victor will be declared once a player’s health reaches 0 or an objective is met, such as Uther of the Ebon Blade’s hero power.

Hearthstone features a few different game modes:

  • Play Mode
    • Standard Format (Classic set + Past 2 years of Expansions & Adventures)
      • Classic (Unranked)
      • Ranked (25(50 for new players)-1 Rank. After Rank 1, there will be a leaderboard system.)
    • Wild Format (Any Card set from any expansion)
      • Classic (Unranked)
      • Ranked (25-1(50 for new players) Rank. After Rank 1, there will be a leaderboard system.)
  • Solo Adventures
    • Battle the Innkeeper.
      • Normal (Don’t ever touch this game mode unless you are new to the game.
      • Hard (Test your decks here to make sure you’re not forgetting anything.)
      • Dungeon Runs
        • Depending on the expansion, different rules are applied.
          • Starting with Kobolds and Catacombs
          • Knights of the Frozen Throne
            • Honestly, only the first level is worth it for a free Death Knight card.
    • Purchased Solo Adventures
      • Curse of Naxxramas
      • Blackrock Mountain
      • League of Explorers
      • One Night in Karazhan
      • Although Hearthstone doesn’t release more solo adventures that are up for purchase, they can still be bought through the Battle.net launcher.
  • Arena
    • Deck Drafting.
    • Once you lose 3 times, you lose your deck.
    • Rewards depend on how many wins you receive.
    • 12 Wins maximum
  • Tavern Brawl
    • Wednesday – Sunday every week
    • Game modes change every week

With the wide variety of cards given to you, most of the cards in Hearthstone are class specific. This means that cards of the same class (same color) are only allowed in the same deck.
These Classes are:

  • Warrior
  • Hunter
  • Paladin
  • Priest
  • Mage
  • Warlock
  • Druid
  • Shaman
  • Rogue

Because of Hearthstone’s long list of rules, decks, strategies, and mechanics, we will continue the explanation of the game in more depth in a later article in this series. Stay tuned for the next article!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: